Skip to main content

2019-2020 Student and Employee Awards

April  2020

View as a pdf

Each year, the Jon M. Huntsman School of Business recognizes top-performing students, staff, and faculty for their academic and professional accomplishments. For the 2019-2020 academic year, we would like to acknowledge and commend the following individuals as recipients of these awards and achievements.

Student Awards

  • William Forster, Business Administration - Valedictorian
  • Brooke Gunnell, Finance and Accounting - Scholar of the Year
  • Katherine Ashley, MIS - Legacy of Utah State
  • Benton Smith, MIS - Kiwanis Outstanding Senior
  • Jake Meyer, Economics - Graduate Student Researcher
  • Josh Lyman, Economics - Undergraduate Student Researcher

Faculty Awards

  • Lianne Wappett, Lecturer in the MIS Department - Teacher of the Year
    • USU Empowering Teaching Excellence Scholar (2020 cohort)
  • Julena Bonner, Assistant Professor of Management in the Marketing and Strategy Department - Faculty Researcher of the Year
  • Antje Graul, Assistant Professor of Marketing - Faculty Service Award
  • Dave Olsen, Professor of MIS - Graduate Faculty Mentor of the Year
  • Matt Meng, Assistant Professor of Marketing - Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year
  • Chad Simon, Associate Professor of Accounting and Huntsman Scholar Program Academic Director - Undergraduate Faculty Mentor of the Year
  • Tonya Davis, Director of Employer Engagement - Employee of the Year

Three professors were awarded promotion and/or tenure for exemplifying a commitment to student success and showing excellence in their respective research.

  • Dr. Sterling Bone, Associate Professor in the Marketing & Strategy Department, was promoted to full Professor.
  • Dr. Kelly Fadel, Associate Professor in the Data Analytics & Information Systems Department, was promoted to full Professor.  
  • Dr. Jared Hansen, Assistant Professor in the Marketing & Strategy Department, received tenure and a promotion to Associate Professor.

A-Pin Recipients

The A-Pin award has been a Utah State University tradition since 1910. This award recognizes students who have earned a 4.0 GPA for two consecutive semesters carrying 15 or more credit hours. This year, 18 Huntsman students were recognized with this academic honor.

  • Felipe Acosta, International Business
  • Madeleine Alder, Economics
  • Candice Anderson, Business Administration
  • Mark Blackham, International Business
  • Jack DeSpain, Finance
  • Rebecka Denney, Business Administration
  • Justin Dygert, Finance
  • Riley Hansen, Accounting
  • Jesse Johnson, Economics
  • Lee Johnson, Economics
  • Quinn Johnson, Accounting
  • Joshua Liechty, Accounting
  • Nate Mather, Finance
  • Samuel McKenzie, Finance
  • Emily Merrill, Business Administration
  • Kaiah Nelson, Marketing
  • Benton Smith, Management Information Systems
  • Chloe Titensor, Management