Skip to main content

AIS Student Chapter Award

February  2020

View as a pdf

Utah State University’s Association for Information Systems (AIS) student chapter in the MIS Department, led by their Executive Board: Benton Smith, Taylor Petersen, Megan Fogarty, and Henry Blackburn, was recognized for the second year in a row as the Student Chapter of the Year.

According to AIS, this is the highest award given to a student chapter that has, “demonstrated an exceptional, well-rounded, and organized program.”

The Outstanding Student Chapter Award is given to chapters who have shown excellence in at least three areas of chapter activities. Those three areas awarded to USU were: Outstanding Professional Development, Outstanding Communication, and Outstanding Advancing Information Systems (IS) as a Profession.

“This is a phenomenal accomplishment by these students who are supported by faculty advisors Jeff Johnson and Ryan Beckstead and staff advisor Taci Watterson-Balls,” said Chris Corcoran, Head of the Department of Management Information System in the Huntsman School of Business.

“This is a truly student-led group. They organize weekly meetings with outside speakers and seminars for updating technical skills,” Corcoran added. “Their efforts have a big impact on their peers, and it's great to see them get recognized.”

You can find more information on USU AIS here: