Skip to main content

Bloom's Taxonomy of Learning Domains

Original Content Publication Date: 01/12/2015


Bloom's Taxonomy of Learning explained! Bloom’s Taxonomy is a hierarchy of learning with 6 levels. Each level focuses on gaining additional depth in learning. The levels are; remembering, understanding, applying, analyzing, evaluating, and creating. Suggestions and examples of how to incorporate the principles are provided.

Key Points

  • There are three main domains of learning; cognitive, affective, and psychomotor
  • Bloom's Taxonomy was originally created in 1956 using these 3 main domains
  • There are a total of 6 levels, each offering additional depth of learning from the previous level
  • Bloom's Taxonomy was revised in 2000 to reflect a more active form of learning
  • Applications to this information are nearly endless (many examples provided)

Article Link


 Link to original article


Strategies & Methods