Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Tim Gardner

Tim Gardner

Associate Professor
Departments: Management
Location:  Business 405
Office Phone:  435.797.3037
Fax:  435.797.1091

Education

Ph.D., Cornell University
M.L.H.R., The Ohio State University
B.L.S., Bowling Green State University

Biography

Professor Gardner is a recognized expert on strategic human resource management, including aligning HR systems with firm strategy, employment branding, unorthodox sourcing and recruiting techniques, and retention. His career includes extensive experience in the human resources field for several U.S.-based companies.

Gardner's research on competition for human capital and the relationship between human resource practices and firm performance has appeared or is forthcoming in such leading publications as Research in Personnel and Human Resources Management, Business Ethics Quarterly, International Journal of Human Resource Management, Academy of Management Journal, Personnel Psychology, Asia-Pacific Journal of Human Resources, and Human Resource Management. His current research interests include labor market rivalry and the organizational impact of human resource systems. Gardner's research has been cited over 300 times in the academic literature and over 800 times in the journals, newspapers, textbooks, and popular books tracked by Google Scholar.

Prior to joining the Huntsman School, Gardner served as a lecturer at Cornell University, assistant professor at the Marriott School of Management at Brigham Young University, and associate professor at the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University. His research has been recognized with numerous grants, awards and distinctions, including the Robert Whitman Fellowship at the Marriott School of Management, the Ralph Alexander Best Dissertation Award from the Human Resource Division of the Academy of Management, research grants from the Kevin and Debra Rollins Center for eBusiness, the Center for Advanced Human Resource Studies, and School of Industrial and Labor Relations at Cornell University.

Related Huntsman News Articles

Research Finds Top Ten Cues Employees Give Before They Quit (Huntsman Alumni Magazine Spring 2014)
Professor Elected to National HR Committee (The Huntsman Post - July 2014)
People Who Plan to Quit Their Job May Unintentionally Give Off Cues (The Huntsman Post - February 2014)
Tim Gardner Says Liberal Studies Degree Proved Good Foundation (The Huntsman Post - October 2012)

Research Interests:

I study the process of lateral hiring to better understand the routines by which organizations discover, value, create, and utilize human capital. I also publish research in the field of strategic human resource management, the study of how organizations manage human capital to gain and maintain a competitive advantage relative to rivals.

Expertise

Human Capital Strategy, Talent Management, Employment Branding, Employee Selection, Employee Retention, Lateral Hiring, and Labor Market Competition

Publications

Gardner, T. M., Wright, P. M., & Moynihan, L. M. (2011). The Impact of Motivation, Empowerment, and Skill Enhancing Practices on Aggregate Voluntary Turnover: The Mediating Effect of Collective Affective Commitment. Personnel Psychology, 64(2), 315-350.

Gardner, T. M., Erhardt, N., & Martin-Rios, C. (2011). Rebranding Employment Branding: Establishing a New Research Agenda to Explore the Attributes, Antecedents, and Consequences of Workers’ Employment Brand Knowledge. Research in Personnel and Human Resources Management, 30, 253-304.

Gardner, T. M., Stansbury, J., & Hart, D. (2010). The Ethics of Lateral Hiring. Business Ethics Quarterly, 20(3), 341-369.

Gardner, T. M. & Wright, P. M. (January, 2009). Implicit Human Resource Management Theory: A Potential Threat to the Internal Validity of Human Resource Practice Measures. International Journal of Human Resource Management, 20(1), 57-74.

Gardner, T. M. (2005). Interfirm Competition for Human Resources: Evidence from the Software Industry. Academy of Management Journal, 48(2), 237-256.

Wright, P. M., Gardner, T. M., Moynihan, L. M., & Allen, M. R. (2005). The Relationship between HR Practices and Firm Performance: Examining Causal Order. Personnel Psychology, 58(2), 409-446.

Gardner, T. M. (2005). Human Resource Alliances as a Means of Improving the Recruiting, Management, and Retention of Employees. International Journal of Human Resource Management, 16(6), 1057-1074.

Park, H. J., Gardner, T. M., & Wright, P. M. (2004). HR Practices or HR Capabilities: Which Matters? Insights from the Asia-Pacific Region. Asia-Pacific Journal of Human Resources, 42(3), 260-273.

Wright, P. M., Gardner, T. M., & Moynihan, L. M. (2003). The Impact of Human Resource Practices on Business Unit Operating and Financial Performance. Human Resource Management Journal, 13(3), 21-36.

Wright, P. M. & Gardner, T. M. (2003). The Human Resource-Firm Performance Relationship: Methodological and Theoretical Challenges. In D. Holman, T. Wall, C. Clegg, P. Sparrow, and A. Howard (Eds.) The New Workplace: People, Technology, and Organizations: 311-328. West Sussex, UK: John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Gardner, T. M. (2002). In The Trenches at the Talent Wars: Competitive Interaction for Scarce Human Resources. Human Resource Management, 41(2), 225-237.

Wright, P. M., Gardner, T. M., Moynihan, L. M., Park, H. J., Gerhart, B., & Delery, J. E. (2001). Measurement Error in Research on Human Resources and Firm Performance: Additional Data and Suggestions for Future Research. Personnel Psychology, 54(4), 875-902.

videos

Dr. Timothy Gardner is interviewed on KUTV

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Associate Professor of Management & Associate Academic Director of the MBA Program 435.797.2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Senior Lecturer 435.613.5245 Price Campus daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 Brigham City Campus scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Baird, Barbara Undergraduate Advisor 435.797.2272 Business 309 barbara.baird@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Associate Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306 deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Crane, Bret Assistant Professor 435.797.6647 BUS 402
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Edgeman, Rick Shingo Institute Research Director & Clinical Professor of Management 435.535.9963 Lundstrom 126 rick.edgeman@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow, Senior Lecturer 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Associate Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 timothy.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer 435.259.7432 Moab Campus cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor, Executive Director of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 Uintah Basin Campus scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director, HR Graduate Studies 435.797.2373 Business 518 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Hartwell, Christopher Assistant Professor 425.797.5782 Business 403 chris.hartwell@usu.edu
Herrmann, David Senior Lecturer 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 daniel.holland@usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Executive Director of International Programs 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Larsen, Cindy O. Staff Assistant 435.797.4062 BUS 415 cindy.larsen@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Leftwich, Steve MBA Career Development Manager 435.797.8916 Business 310 steve.leftwich@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
Lindsey, Joanie Program Coordinator 435.797.9753 BUS 101 joanie.lindsey@usu.edu
Loveland, Dannon Employer Relations Coordinator 435.797.3624 Business 315 dannon.loveland@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
Olson, Jacob Adjunct Faculty 435-512-8141   jacob.olson@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Program Coordinator and Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Roper, Strat Lecturer 435-919-1306 Brigham City Campus strat.roper@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean, Jon M. Huntsman School of Business 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur-in-Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309M brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Associate Department Head and Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thunell, Andy Administrator of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435-797-1107 Business 311 andy.thunell@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Washburn, Nathan Associate Professor 435.797.2273 Business 420 nathan.t.washburn@gmail.com
Winn, Brad Professional of Practice Associate Professor, Organizational Leadership and Strategy Director, MHR Executive Program & Associate Director, Professional MBA 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu