Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Vijay Kannan

Vijay Kannan

Executive Director of International Programs, Professor
Departments: Management
Location:  Business 412
Office Phone:  435.797.7212
Fax:  435.797.1091

Education

Ph. D., Production & Operations Management, Michigan State University
Minor: Information Systems, Statistics

MBA, Finance, Decision Science, Indiana University
BS, Management Sciences, London School of Economics & Political Science, University of London, U.K

Related Huntsman News Articles

More Than 100 Students Travel to Six Countries on Global Learning Experiences in Spring 2013 (The Huntsman Post - April 2013)
Huntsman Professors Have Written Some Books You Should Know About (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Fall 2012)
My Favorite Professor (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Spring 2010)
Vijay Kannan Tells About Scary Night in Vietnam (The Huntsman Post - October 2012)

Biography

Vijay R. Kannan is Professor of Operations Management and Executive Director of International Programs in the Jon M. Huntsman School of Business, Utah State University. Professor Kannan received his BSc. from the London School of Economics and Political Science, MBA from Indiana University, and Ph.D. from Michigan State University. Prior to joining the faculty at Utah State University, Professor Kannan served on the faculty of the College of Business, James Madison University and as an instructor in the Eli Broad College of Business, Michigan State University. He has been a visiting professor at the Indian Institute of Management, Lucknow, where he was a Fulbright Scholar, National Economics University, Hanoi, Vietnam, and University of Science and Technology, Lille, France. In addition to his teaching experience, he has worked for the Greater London Council (UK), the Office of the Dean of Academic Computing, Indiana University, and as an examiner for the Shingo Prize for Operational Excellence.

Professor Kannan teaches undergraduate and graduate classes in operations and supply chain management. He has also developed undergraduate and graduate international study programs that have taken students to several countries in Asia and Eastern Europe. He has published more than thirty articles on topics including supply chain management, cellular manufacturing, and manufacturing strategy in journals including Decision Sciences, the International Journal of Operations and Production Management, the Journal of Supply Chain Management, and the Academy of Management Journal of Learning and Education. Professor Kannan is also the editor of two books on International Business and Strategic Management. He is the recipient of several research awards including the Huntsman School of Business Researcher of the Year and Department of Management Researcher of the Year.

Professor Kannan has held several leadership positions with the Decision Sciences Institute, both within its national (DSI) and regional (Western and Southeast DSI) organizations. He has twice served as a Vice President of DSI and is a Past President of Western DSI. He is currently the editor of the Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education, an Associate Editor for Decision Sciences Journal, and an Associate Editor for the Institute for Supply Management’s Journal of Supply Chain Management.

Research Area(s)

Supply chain and quality management and cellular manufacturing.

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Assistant Professor (435) 797-2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Executive-in-Residence/Lecturer 435.613.5245 UMC 5035 daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.259.7432 Ext. 1813 UMC 5035 scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Arrington, Christine Senior Lecture 435.797.2338 Business 306A christine.arrington@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Assistant Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306A deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Brown-Bankhead, Lindi MBA Program Coordinator & Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 lindi.brown@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor of Management 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Champlin, Natalee Administrator of the Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence, Assistant to Directors of Marketing and Branding 435.797.1107 Business 309M natalee.champlin@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Assistant Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 tim.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer in Business Management, Box Elder County Economic Development Liaison 435.919.1306 UMC 5035 cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor of Management, Executive Director of Entrepreneurial Programs 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 CB 114G Roosevelt scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director of Distance Education, Accreditation and Assessment 435.797.2373 Business 414 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Herrmann, David Executive-In-Residence 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Hinckley, Martin Adjunct Professor 435.734.9584   martin@assuredquality.com
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 dan.holland@usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Executive Director of International Programs, Professor 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
McEvoy, Glenn Professor 435.797.2375 Business 403 glenn.mcevoy@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Staff Assistant MBA: 435.797.3624 / Management: 435.797.4062 MBA: BUS 108 / Management: BUS 415 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean and Chief Administrative Officer 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur in Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309 brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thue, Matthew Adjunct Faculty 909-348-7269   matthew.thue@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Associate Department Head, Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Winn, Brad Clinical Associate Professor Organizational Leadership and Strategy 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu