Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
James Davis

James Davis

Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor
Departments: Management
Graduate Programs: Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Location:  Business 411
Office Phone:  435.797.3882
Fax:  435.797.1091

Education

Ph.D., Corporate Strategy, University of Iowa
M.Ed., Brigham Young University
MBA, Idaho State University
BA, Brigham Young University

Huntsman School Interactions

January 12, 2011

Biography

James H. Davis has been with Notre Dame since 1991. He received his Ph.D. in corporate strategy from the University of Iowa, M.B.A. from Idaho State University and M.Ed. and B.A. from Brigham Young University. Since 1998, he has been the director of the Gigot Center for Entrepreneurial Studies. He teaches courses in strategic planning, change management, entrepreneurship and international management.

Professor Davis was named the John F. O’Shaughnessy Chair of Family Enterprises in 2006 and the Ray and Milan Siegfried Director of Entrepreneurial Studies in 2004. In 2005, he was given the University of Notre Dame President’s Award for his contributions to the University. He received the Notre Dame College of Business M.B.A. Outstanding Professor of the Year award in 1996, 1998 and 1999. He was named Outstanding Professor by Purdue University’s German International School of Management Administration in 2001. He was recognized as the 2002 Inspiration Teacher of the Year for Notre Dame’s executive programs. He received a Kaneb award for outstanding undergraduate teaching in 2003.

In 1998, Davis launched the Gigot Center for Entrepreneurial Studies at the University of Notre Dame. In the 10 years he has served as director for the center, it was consistently ranked among the top 20 programs of the country and received the NASDAQ Center of Excellence Award.

His research interests and publications are in the areas of corporate governance, strategic decision-making, trust, stewardship and social capital. His articles have appeared in many publications including the Strategic Management Journal, the Academy of Management Review, Journal of Applied Psychology, Harvard Business Review, Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, Journal of Management Education and International Journal of Value-Based Management. The Academy of Management recently recognized his research on trust as the best theoretical research of the second decade. He has served on the editorial boards for the Academy of Management Review and Business Horizons. He now serves on the board for Journal of Venture Capital and is the deputy editor for the Journal of Trust Research.

Professor Davis launched and served as the chairman of the Corporate Strategy and Governance Division of the Strategic Management Society. In that capacity he designed and facilitated international conferences and research groups for practicing managers and academics. Dr. Davis is a director on the boards of the Indiana Venture Center and serves as treasurer and chairman of the Finance Committee for the South Bend Resources and Technology Corporation Board.

Professor Davis has designed and taught executive development workshops to a wide range of corporations and trade associations throughout the world. He has worked with a number of companies with strategic planning throughout the world including Continental Tire (Europe, China, India, Malaysia, Brazil), Sennheiser (Germany, North America), Koerber (Germany, China), Bayer (North America and Germany), Lanxess (North America and Germany), Far Eastern Group (Taiwan), Commodities Exchange and Government of Estonia, Cape Union Mart (South Africa) and Seminarium (Chile, Brazil, Costa Rica, Panama, Columbia, etc). He designed an experiential learning approach at the University of Notre Dame that has partnered Notre Dame College of Business Students with hundreds of organizations (for and not-for profit) throughout the world.

Quote

“We need to have better vision. More than anything in this world we need vision because we don’t see far enough; we don’t see clearly enough; and we don’t see it soon enough.”

- James Davis

Related Huntsman News Articles

James Davis Appointed Director of the MBA Program (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Fall 2013)
Notre Dame professor joins the Huntsman School of Business as head of the Department of Management (The Huntsman Post - August 2011)

Links

View the slides from the Dean's Convocation

VIDEO

Dean's Convocation: January 12, 2011

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Associate Professor of Management & Associate Academic Director of the MBA Program 435.797.2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Senior Lecturer 435.613.5245 Price Campus daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 Brigham City Campus scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Baird, Barbara Undergraduate Advisor 435.797.2272 Business 309 barbara.baird@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Associate Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306 deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Crane, Bret Assistant Professor 435.797.6647 BUS 402
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Edgeman, Rick Shingo Institute Research Director & Clinical Professor of Management 435.535.9963 Lundstrom 126 rick.edgeman@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow, Senior Lecturer 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Associate Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 timothy.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer 435.259.7432 Moab Campus cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor, Executive Director of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 Uintah Basin Campus scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director, HR Graduate Studies 435.797.2373 Business 518 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Hartwell, Christopher Assistant Professor 425.797.5782 Business 403 chris.hartwell@usu.edu
Herrmann, David Senior Lecturer 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 daniel.holland@usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Executive Director of International Programs 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Larsen, Cindy O. Staff Assistant 435.797.4062 BUS 415 cindy.larsen@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Leftwich, Steve MBA Career Development Manager 435.797.8916 Business 310 steve.leftwich@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
Lindsey, Joanie Program Coordinator 435.797.9753 BUS 101 joanie.lindsey@usu.edu
Loveland, Dannon Employer Relations Coordinator 435.797.3624 Business 315 dannon.loveland@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
Olson, Jacob Adjunct Faculty 435-512-8141   jacob.olson@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Program Coordinator and Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Roper, Strat Lecturer 435-919-1306 Brigham City Campus strat.roper@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean, Jon M. Huntsman School of Business 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur-in-Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309M brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Associate Department Head and Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thunell, Andy Administrator of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435-797-1107 Business 311 andy.thunell@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Washburn, Nathan Associate Professor 435.797.2273 Business 420 nathan.t.washburn@gmail.com
Wills, Dani Office Assistant 435.797.3624 BUS 108 dani.wills@usu.edu
Winn, Brad Professional of Practice Associate Professor, Organizational Leadership and Strategy Director, MHR Executive Program & Associate Director, Professional MBA 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu