Huntsman Post

Huntsman School continues to claim top awards

Mary Ann Clark listens as Dean Douglas D. Anderson talks about why she is being recognized as Classified Employee of the Year.

Photo by Steve Eaton

It would be hard to argue that the Jon M. Huntsman School of Business is not an award-winning school.

The following students and faculty members from the Huntsman School of Business were recently recognized for their outstanding achievements:

Chris Martin, economics and political science – Robins Award for USU  Man of the Year. This award is given annually to one USU student who has made broad significant achievements and contributions to the university during the previous year.

Frank Caliendo, associate professor of economics – Robins Award for USU Professor of the Year. Each year, one professor from the entire university is given this award.

Taira Koybaeva, visiting associate professor of management and marketing. – Utah State University Student Ambassador Professor of the Year.

Elder Stephen Snow, a former senior partner in a law firm who is now a leader in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He serves in the Presidency of the Seventy. – Professional Achievement Award.

Kent Alder, chief executive officer, president and director of TTM Technologies. TTM is the fourth largest printed circuit board company in the world and has been recognized as one of the “100 Most Trustworthy Companies” in America by Forbes Magazine. – Professional Achievement Award.

Blake Nemelka, marketing, and Bo Nemelka, marketing. – Best Undergraduate Student Paper at the 2011 Western Decision Sciences Annual Meeting held in Portland, Ore.

Natalie Curtis, public relations with a minor in marketing. – 2011 Utah PR Student of the Year in an annual competition sponsored by Richter7, a Salt Lake-based advertising and public relations agency.

Edwin Stafford, professor of marketing, and Cathy Hartman, professor of marketing. – Windustry’s Community Wind Across America Award for their documentary Wind Uprising.

David Olsen, professor of MIS, Ken Bartkus, professor of marketing, Zsolt Ugray, associate professor of MIS, and John Johnson, department head and professor of MIS. – Best paper award at the 2nd Business Intelligence Congress.

(The following award winners were selected by the Awards and Recognition Committee at the Huntsman School of Business. They were recognized at a special luncheon on May 5, 2011).

Curtis Fairbourn, finance - Valedictorian.

Chris Ainge, accounting and entrepreneurship – Undergraduate Researcher of the Year.

Becky Drebin, entrepreneurship and economics – Scholar of the Year.

Brent Meacham, marketing– Legacy of Utah State.

Derek Kent, prelaw economics emphasis and marketing – Undergraduate Teaching Fellow.

David Hess, Master of Science in Human Resources – Graduate Research Award of the Year. 

Ken Bartkus, professor of marketing – Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year.

Chad Albrecht, assistant professor of management – Researcher of the Year.

Konrad Lee, associate professor of business law and ethics – Undergraduate Faculty Advisor of the Year.

Frank Caliendo, associate professor of economics – Teacher of the Year.

Mary Ann Clark, assistant to the department head in the School of Accountancy – Classified Employee of the Year.

Jim Elwood, manager of Information Technology – Professional Employee of the Year.

Terry Glover, professor of economics – International Professor of the Year.