Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Martin Hinckley

Martin Hinckley

Adjunct Professor
Departments: Management
Office Phone:  435.734.9584

Education

Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, Leland Stanford Junior University, 1994
ME, Civil Engineering, Brigham Young University, 1977
BS, Engineering, Brigham Young University, 1973

Biography

The president of Assured Quality since 1993, C. Martin Hinckley, is an internationally recognized quality leader. In March of 2006 he received the Westgard Quality Award in Antwerp, Belgium for his contribution to Clinical Chemistry. He has provided training in quality for IBM, Texas Instruments, Bullen Ultrasonics, Applied Materials, General Motors, GE Aircraft Engines, Fairchild Semiconductor, and Caterpillar, among others. Dr. Hinckley has also made numerous presentations at a wide variety of conferences sponsored by organizations such as ASME, AT&T, SPIE, and SPE, and has been a popular guest lecturer at the University of New Mexico and Stanford University.

While most quality improvement efforts, like Six Sigma, require major investments and often deliver disappointing results, relatively modest efforts using Dr. Hinckley’s methods have reduced defect rates more than tenfold. These concepts were first successfully demonstrated at Sandia National Laboratories, where prototype assembly times were cut as much as 86 percent compared to existing products and traditional rework was virtually eliminated, demonstrating the effective integration of design, development and manufacturing. At Sandia, Dr. Hinckley was a manager and Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff, providing the corporate technical leadership for major national projects including the X-Ray Laser.

Dr. Hinckley is the author of the Productivity Press book, Make No Mistake, which presents a systematic method for reducing complexity, controlling mistakes, and controlling variation with settings. Technical papers have been published in Manufacturing Review, the Journal of Quality Technology, and Quality and Reliability Engineering. Martin’s received a Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1994. This research on the link between design concept and product quality involved the participation of major automotive manufacturers.
 

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Assistant Professor (435) 797-2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Executive-in-Residence/Lecturer 435.613.5245 UMC 5035 daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 UMC 5035 scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Arrington, Christine Senior Lecture 435.797.2338 Business 306A christine.arrington@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Assistant Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306A deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Brown-Bankhead, Lindi MBA Program Coordinator & Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 lindi.brown@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor of Management 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Champlin, Natalee Administrator of the Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence, Assistant to Directors of Marketing and Branding 435.797.1107 Business 309M natalee.champlin@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Assistant Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 tim.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer in Business Management, Box Elder County Economic Development Liaison 435.919.1306 UMC 5035 cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor of Management, Executive Director of the 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 CB 114G Roosevelt scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director of Distance Education, Accreditation and Assessment 435.797.2373 Business 414 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Herrmann, David Executive-In-Residence 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Hinckley, Martin Adjunct Professor 435.734.9584   martin@assuredquality.com
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 dan.holland@usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Executive Director of International Programs, Professor 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
McEvoy, Glenn Professor 435.797.2375 Business 403 glenn.mcevoy@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Staff Assistant MBA: 435.797.3624 / Management: 435.797.4062 MBA: BUS 108 / Management: BUS 415 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean and Chief Administrative Officer 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur in Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309 brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thue, Matthew Adjunct Faculty 909-348-7269   matthew.thue@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Associate Department Head, Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Winn, Brad Clinical Associate Professor Organizational Leadership and Strategy 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu