Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
James Davis

James Davis

Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor
Departments: Management
Graduate Programs: Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Location:  Business 411
Office Phone:  435.797.3882
Fax:  435.797.1091

Education

Ph.D., Corporate Strategy, University of Iowa
M.Ed., Brigham Young University
MBA, Idaho State University
BA, Brigham Young University

Huntsman School Interactions

January 12, 2011

Biography

James H. Davis has been with Notre Dame since 1991. He received his Ph.D. in corporate strategy from the University of Iowa, M.B.A. from Idaho State University and M.Ed. and B.A. from Brigham Young University. Since 1998, he has been the director of the Gigot Center for Entrepreneurial Studies. He teaches courses in strategic planning, change management, entrepreneurship and international management.

Professor Davis was named the John F. O’Shaughnessy Chair of Family Enterprises in 2006 and the Ray and Milan Siegfried Director of Entrepreneurial Studies in 2004. In 2005, he was given the University of Notre Dame President’s Award for his contributions to the University. He received the Notre Dame College of Business M.B.A. Outstanding Professor of the Year award in 1996, 1998 and 1999. He was named Outstanding Professor by Purdue University’s German International School of Management Administration in 2001. He was recognized as the 2002 Inspiration Teacher of the Year for Notre Dame’s executive programs. He received a Kaneb award for outstanding undergraduate teaching in 2003.

In 1998, Davis launched the Gigot Center for Entrepreneurial Studies at the University of Notre Dame. In the 10 years he has served as director for the center, it was consistently ranked among the top 20 programs of the country and received the NASDAQ Center of Excellence Award.

His research interests and publications are in the areas of corporate governance, strategic decision-making, trust, stewardship and social capital. His articles have appeared in many publications including the Strategic Management Journal, the Academy of Management Review, Journal of Applied Psychology, Harvard Business Review, Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, Journal of Management Education and International Journal of Value-Based Management. The Academy of Management recently recognized his research on trust as the best theoretical research of the second decade. He has served on the editorial boards for the Academy of Management Review and Business Horizons. He now serves on the board for Journal of Venture Capital and is the deputy editor for the Journal of Trust Research.

Professor Davis launched and served as the chairman of the Corporate Strategy and Governance Division of the Strategic Management Society. In that capacity he designed and facilitated international conferences and research groups for practicing managers and academics. Dr. Davis is a director on the boards of the Indiana Venture Center and serves as treasurer and chairman of the Finance Committee for the South Bend Resources and Technology Corporation Board.

Professor Davis has designed and taught executive development workshops to a wide range of corporations and trade associations throughout the world. He has worked with a number of companies with strategic planning throughout the world including Continental Tire (Europe, China, India, Malaysia, Brazil), Sennheiser (Germany, North America), Koerber (Germany, China), Bayer (North America and Germany), Lanxess (North America and Germany), Far Eastern Group (Taiwan), Commodities Exchange and Government of Estonia, Cape Union Mart (South Africa) and Seminarium (Chile, Brazil, Costa Rica, Panama, Columbia, etc). He designed an experiential learning approach at the University of Notre Dame that has partnered Notre Dame College of Business Students with hundreds of organizations (for and not-for profit) throughout the world.

Quote

“We need to have better vision. More than anything in this world we need vision because we don’t see far enough; we don’t see clearly enough; and we don’t see it soon enough.”

- James Davis

Related Huntsman News Articles

James Davis Appointed Director of the MBA Program (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Fall 2013)
Notre Dame professor joins the Huntsman School of Business as head of the Department of Management (The Huntsman Post - August 2011)

Links

View the slides from the Dean's Convocation

VIDEO

Dean's Convocation: January 12, 2011

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Assistant Professor (435) 797-2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Executive-in-Residence/Lecturer 435.613.5245 UMC 5035 daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 UMC 5035 scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Arrington, Christine Senior Lecture 435.797.2338 Business 306A christine.arrington@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Assistant Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306A deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Brown-Bankhead, Lindi MBA Program Coordinator & Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 lindi.brown@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor of Management 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Champlin, Natalee Administrator of the Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence, Assistant to Directors of Marketing and Branding 435.797.1107 Business 309M natalee.champlin@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Assistant Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 tim.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer in Business Management, Box Elder County Economic Development Liaison 435.919.1306 UMC 5035 cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor of Management, Executive Director of the 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 CB 114G Roosevelt scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director of Distance Education, Accreditation and Assessment 435.797.2373 Business 414 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Herrmann, David Executive-In-Residence 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Hinckley, Martin Adjunct Professor 435.734.9584   martin@assuredquality.com
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 dan.holland@usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Executive Director of International Programs, Professor 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
McEvoy, Glenn Professor 435.797.2375 Business 403 glenn.mcevoy@usu.edu
Olson, Jacob Adjunct Faculty 435-512-8141   jacob.olson@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Staff Assistant MBA: 435.797.3624 / Management: 435.797.4062 MBA: BUS 108 / Management: BUS 415 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean and Chief Administrative Officer 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur in Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309 brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thue, Matthew Adjunct Faculty 909-348-7269   matthew.thue@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Associate Department Head, Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Wills, Dani Office Assistant 435.797.3624 BUS 108 dani.wills@usu.edu
Winn, Brad Clinical Associate Professor Organizational Leadership and Strategy 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu