Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Edwin Stafford

Edwin Stafford

Associate Department Head and Professor
Departments: Management
Location:  Business 304
Office Phone:  435.797.3890
Fax:  435.797.1091

Education

Ph.D., Marketing, Arizona State University, 1994
MBA, Santa Clara University, 1989
BA, Marketing, San Jose State University, 1987 Minor: Music/Opera Performance

Related Huntsman News Articles

Article Published by Huntsman Professors is Widely Circulated, Translated Into French (The Huntsman Post - March 2013)
Marketing Professors Adjust Message, Kick-Start New Industry (The Huntsman Post - March 2013)

Biography

Edwin R. Stafford, Ph.D., is a professor of marketing, researcher, public speaker, news commentary writer, and documentary film producer whose work centers on sustainable entrepreneurship and the marketing of renewable energy and clean technology.

His cross-disciplinary research has appeared in business, environmental policy, and sustainability journals, and his expertise has been featured in a variety of news media, including The Wall Street Journal, BusinessWeek.com, The New York Times Magazine, The New York Times, Newsweek, USA Today, KLS News, The Guardian, Free-Range Thinking, ScalingGreen.com, GreenBiz.com, and the Christian Science Monitor. He is a frequent guest speaker for professional and civic groups, including the Utah American Marketing Association, Utah Advertising Federation, Bioneers, Rotary Club, and other groups. He has also presented his research at other universities, including Penn State University, Babson College, Clark University, Santa Clara University, the University of Utah, Brigham Young University, among others. He has been an advisor to the Utah Energy Office and a collaborator with the National Renewable Energy Laboratory and Wind Powering America in Golden, Colorado.

Ed’s applied research strives to make a difference in business practice, policy, and society. Much of his work centers on the analyses of clean technology marketing and entrepreneurship case situations to uncover practical ‘lessons learned’ to establish analytical frameworks and tools for managerial decision-making. As an innovation in case research, Ed has co-produced and co-written two peer-reviewed research documentary shorts, “Wind Uprising” and “Scaling Wind,” with his colleagues Cathy Hartman (emeritus, Utah State University) and Michelle Nunez (GreenTech Films). “Wind Uprising” (2010) chronicles the turbulent journey that a wind entrepreneur and an engineer trail blazed to establish the wind power industry in Utah at the mouth of Spanish Fork Canyon. The film’s story provides important lessons for business leaders, policymakers, regulators, and residents about the economic development implications of wind energy in local communities. The film is narrated by former Utah senator and astronaut Jake Garn. The film has screened across the country, including at major film festivals, universities, and policy and energy conferences, and it has won three awards. A trailer is available at www.winduprisingmovie.com.

“Scaling Wind” premiered in November 2013 at the Intermountain Bioneers Conference, and it explains how America may procure 20 percent of its electricity from wind energy (up from less than four percent today) through smart, stable energy policy and transmission development. The documentary overviews how Iowa has achieved well over 20 percent wind through a Renewable Energy Standard and the case of Montana’s challenges to develop America’s first merchant transmission line in 50 years to export 600 megawatts of wind power from Montana’s rugged plains into the Western power grid. “Scaling Wind” shows how wind and renewable energy has strong bipartisan support at the state level, providing important lessons for national energy policy, business development, and job creation for policymakers, business leaders and citizens. The film is narrated by the Marine Corp’s Major General Michael Lehnert (retired) and is being released nationwide in 2014. The film will be screened at Wind Power 2014 in Las Vegas, NV, on May 6. A trailer is available at http://vimeo.com/87312269. Both “Wind Uprising” and “Scaling Wind,” and his other research, have been funded by grants by the U.S. Department of Energy and the Marriner S. Eccles Foundation.

Ed has mentored many students to pursue careers in renewable energy and clean technology, and they’ve been recruited by such agencies and firms as the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Intermountain Wind & Solar, and Wasatch Wind.

Related Huntsman News Articles

Huntsman Professors Find Ways to Make “Green” More Macho (The Huntsman Post - August 2012)
Cathy Hartman and Edwin Stafford help kick-start new industry in Utah (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Spring 2009)

RESEARCH AREAS

Market diffusion of renewable energy and clean technology; sustainable entrepreneurship; "green marketing" strategy and message framing

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Associate Professor of Management & Associate Academic Director of the MBA Program 435.797.2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Senior Lecturer 435.613.5245 Price Campus daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 Brigham City Campus scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Baird, Barbara Undergraduate Advisor 435.797.2272 Business 309 barbara.baird@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Associate Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306 deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Crane, Bret Assistant Professor 435.797.6647 BUS 402
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Edgeman, Rick Shingo Institute Research Director & Clinical Professor of Management 435.535.9963 Lundstrom 126 rick.edgeman@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow, Senior Lecturer 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Associate Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 timothy.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer 435.259.7432 Moab Campus cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor, Executive Director of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 Uintah Basin Campus scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director, HR Graduate Studies 435.797.2373 Business 518 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Hartwell, Christopher Assistant Professor 425.797.5782 Business 403 chris.hartwell@usu.edu
Herrmann, David Senior Lecturer 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 daniel.holland@usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Executive Director of International Programs 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Larsen, Cindy O. Staff Assistant 435.797.4062 BUS 415 cindy.larsen@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Leftwich, Steve MBA Career Development Manager 435.797.8916 Business 310 steve.leftwich@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
Lindsey, Joanie Program Coordinator 435.797.9753 BUS 101 joanie.lindsey@usu.edu
Loveland, Dannon Employer Relations Coordinator 435.797.3624 Business 315 dannon.loveland@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
Olson, Jacob Adjunct Faculty 435-512-8141   jacob.olson@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Program Coordinator and Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Roper, Strat Lecturer 435-919-1306 Brigham City Campus strat.roper@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean and Chief Administrative Officer 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur-in-Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309M brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Associate Department Head and Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thunell, Andy Administrator of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435-797-1107 Business 311 andy.thunell@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Washburn, Nathan Associate Professor 435.797.2273 Business 420 nathan.t.washburn@gmail.com
Winn, Brad Professional of Practice Associate Professor, Organizational Leadership and Strategy Director, MHR Executive Program & Associate Director, Professional MBA 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu