Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Ben Blau

Ben Blau

Associate Professor
Departments: Economics and Finance
Location:  Business 603
Office Phone:  435.797.2340
Fax:  435.797.2701

Education

Ph.D., Finance, University of Mississippi, 2008 Emphasis: Econometrics & Micoeconomic Theory
MS, Economics, Utah State University, 2005 Emphasis: Economic Theory
BS, Finance, Utah State University, 2002 Minor: Economics

Biography

Dr. Ben Blau graduated with honors and received a Ph.D. in Finance from the University of Mississippi in June 2008 after receiving both his Bachelors Degree (Finance, 2002) and Masters Degree (Economics, 2005) here at Utah State University. Ben is passionate about both teaching and research. Before joining the faculty at USU, he taught at the Marriott School at Brigham Young University and was recognized for “Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching” in 2009. Ben’s research interests include empirical asset pricing, market microstructure, and the efficiency of the financial system. He has published more than three dozen articles in academic journals such as the Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, Journal of Banking and Finance, and Financial Management. His article titled, “Signaling, Free Cash Flow, and Nonmonotonic Dividends” won the Outstanding Paper award in the Financial Review in 2010. Another one of Ben’s article titled, “Trade Size and Price Clustering: The Case of Short Sales and the Suspension of Price Tests” won the 2012 Outstanding Article award at the Journal of Financial Research. His research has also been highlighted by several media outlets, such as the Wall Street Journal, SmartMoney Magazine, and Politico. In 2012, he was recognized as the Huntsman School Teacher of the Year and in 2013, he was again recognized as the Huntsman School Researcher of the Year.

Video

Researcher of the Year 2013 - Ben Blau

Related Huntsman News Articles

Research Finds Correlation Between Political Connections, Federal Reserve Loans (The Huntsman Post - February 2014)
My Favorite Professor: Professor Ben Blau Connects Finance to Real World News of the Day (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Fall 2012)
Huntsman Students, Faculty and Staff Win Prestigious Awards (The Huntsman Post - May 2012)
Research Highlights (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Spring 2011)

Name Title Phone Location Email
Blau, Ben Associate Professor 435.797.2340 Business 603 ben.blau@usu.edu
Bowles, Tyler Professor and Head, MSE & MSFE Graduate Advisor 435.797.2378 Business 611 tyler.bowles@usu.edu
Brough, Tyler Assistant Professor 435.797.2369 Business 605 tyler.brough@usu.edu
Caliendo, Frank Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and Associate Professor 435.797.2963 Business 619 frank.caliendo@usu.edu
DeLisle, R. Jared Assistant Professor of Finance 435.797.0885 Business 612 jared.delisle@usu.edu
Fawson, Christopher Vernon Maughan Buehler and MaRee C. Buehler Professor 435.797.2320 Business 514 chris.fawson@usu.edu
Feigenbaum, James Associate Professor 435.797.2316 Business 620 J.Feigen@aggiemail.usu.edu
Findley, T. Scott Assistant Professor 435.797.2371 Business 616 tscott.findley@usu.edu
Fjeldsted, Paul Senior Lecturer 435.797.2172 Business 602 paul.fjeldsted@usu.edu
Gilbert, John Professor 435.797.2314 Business 604 jgilbert@usu.edu
Glover, Terry Professor 435.797.2297 Business 607 terry.glover@usu.edu
Gorry, Aspen Assistant Professor 435.797.2397 Business 610 aspen.gorry@usu.edu
Gorry, Devon Assistant Professor 435.797.9098 Business 606 devon.gorry@usu.edu
Hunter, Maegan Business Assistant I 435.797.2133 Business 110 maegan.hunter@usu.edu
Israelsen, Dwight Director – Instruction, China Cooperative Academic Programs and Professor of Economics 435.797.2298 Business 608 dwight.israelsen@usu.edu
Lai, Sheila Director - Operations, China Cooperative Academic Programs and Clinical Assistant Professor 435.797.3019 Business 506 sheila.lai@usu.edu
Malko, Robert Professor NA NA jrmalko@comcast.net
Peterson, Shannon Clinical Assistant Professor of Economics & Co-Director of Huntsman Scholars Program 435.797.3966 Business 309 shannon.peterson@usu.edu
Romrell, Doug Lecturer     dougromrell@gmail.com
Routledge, Teri Sr. Staff Assistant 435.797.2310 Business 615 teri.routledge@usu.edu
Shughart II, William F. J. Fish Smith Professor in Public Choice 435.797.1571 Business 510 william.shughart@usu.edu
Simmons, Randy T Charles G. Koch Professor of Political Economy 435.797.1310 Business 516 randy.simmons@usu.edu
Smith, Jason Assistant Professor 435.797.2363 Business 614 jason.smith@usu.edu
Sorenson, Donette Coordinator of Programs 435.797.2989 Business 110 donette.sorenson@usu.edu
Stephens, Alan Associate Professor 435.797.2367 Business 508 alan.stephens@usu.edu
Stowell, David Adjunct Professor     d-stowell@kellogg.northwestern.edu
Whitby, Ryan Assistant Professor 435.797.9495 Business 618 ryan.whitby@usu.edu